Multiple linear regression analysis with constraints

Here is how to do it:
Suppose the linear model is of the form y=b1x1+b2x2+b3x3,

subject to b1+b2+b3=1.

We have to do is simply re-express b3 as b3=1−b1−b2,
which is to say you are trying to build a model of the form
y=x3+b1*x1+b2*x2+(1-b1-b2)*x3
y-x3=b1*(x1−x3)+b2*(x2−x3).

So create new variables y`=y-x3, x1`=x1−x3, and x2`=x2−x3, and perform the normal linear regression using these transformed variables as the independent variables.

Note that: In excel there is build in function called ‘solver’ which appears that it can be used by maximizing R^2 value and setting the constraints b1+b2+b3=1, but this wont work. The solver is good for solving ‘linear programming’ and not regression type of questions.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Velma  On September 23, 2014 at 9:52 pm

    You actually make it seem so easy together with your presentation but I find
    this topic to be really something that I feel I
    would never understand. It seems too complicated and extremely vast
    for me. I’m having a look forward on your next put up, I’ll attempt to get the hold
    of it!

  • instagram hack  On September 26, 2014 at 3:22 pm

    Hi! Do you know if they make any plugins to safeguard against hackers?

    I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard
    on. Any suggestions?

  • Right away I am going to do my breakfast, afterward having
    my breakfast coming yet again to read additional news.

  • Muhammad  On September 30, 2014 at 6:47 am

    I will right away snatdh your rss aas I can’t
    too fin you e-mail subscrption hyperlink orr e-newsletter service.
    Do yoou have any? Please leet mme recoognise iin order hat I mmay subscribe.
    Thanks.

  • of course like your web-site but you have to check the spelling on several of your posts.
    A number of them are rife with spelling issues and I
    in finding it very bothersome to tell the reality however I’ll definitely come back again.

  • Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as
    though you relied on the video to make your point.
    You definitely know what youre talking about, why throw away
    your intelligence on just posting videos to your weblog when you could be giving us something enlightening to read?

  • dgn2200m firmware update  On November 5, 2016 at 5:45 am

    Nice blog here! Additionally your website a lot up very
    fast! What host are you the use of? Can I get
    your associate hyperlink in your host? I desire my web site loaded up as quickly as yours
    lol

Leave a Reply

